Skip to content

Ranchy Baked Potato Salad

September 13, 2013

I hate potato salad, or at least I did until I discovered a twice baked potato version in my husband’s hometown in coastal Mississippi. Since I liked it so much, I decided I needed to come up with a version of my own, and while mine tastes nothing like the beloved original, I believe mine is just as good.

Ranchy Baked Potato Salad

4-5 large Idaho potatoes, chopped into chunks (peeling is optional!)

1 cup sour cream

1 cup mayonnaise

1 packet of dry ranch dressing mix (I use Hidden Valley Ranch)

pepper, to taste

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

4-6 slices of cooked bacon, crumbled

Boil potatoes until tender. (A knife should pass through easily, but don’t over-cook!)

Mix sour cream, mayonnaise, and ranch mix well and allow to sit and mingle while the potatoes are cooking.

Drain potatoes well, and allow to cool slightly on a sheet pan. You don’t want them to be screaming hot.

When potatoes are cooled, mix it all together and top with cheese and bacon. Chill for a minimum of 1 hour and serve cold.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

