Skip to content

Recipe Revamp – Potato Soup

November 16, 2011

This fabulously stormy weather has me in the mood for food, so you get two posts today!

My great-grandmother made the best potato soup. Unfortunately, and despite my MANY hours watching her in the kitchen as a child, I am unable to recall exactly what she did that made it so yummy. As a result, I’ve never really attempted potato soup on my own–until now.

Thanks to the absolute fantastic-ness that is Pinterest, I recently came across a recipe for crock pot potato soup that sounded interesting. As I do with most of my recipes, I made some adjustments to suit my own tastes and came up with IMHO the most delicious potato soup ever. Whether or not you choose to use the crock pot is totally up to you.

Potato Soup

6-8 medium sized potatoes (cut into 1 inch chunks)

48 oz chicken broth

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 small onion, chopped (optional–I use dried onion flakes, personally)

black pepper to taste

8 oz full fat cream cheese (She’s right. The low fat stuff doesn’t melt.)

Stovetop – Combine all ingredients EXCEPT cream cheese into a large pot and simmer on med-low heat about 40 minutes before adding cream cheese. Stir well.

Crockpot – Combine all ingredients EXCEPT cream cheese and cook on low 6-8 hours. Add cream cheese about 20 minutes before serving and stir well.

Serve with shredded cheddar, bacon, etc.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

