Skip to content

Worthy of being first – My Mac & Cheese

November 8, 2011

Well…I finally did it. I created a cooking blog. I’m not happy with the name, but that can change later.

Perhaps no one will read it, but then it might be the next big thing. Frankly, I don’t care either way. I really enjoy cooking, and especially talking about recipes. To those who know me well, you might say that I like to talk about anything (totally true).

Enough babbling. Let’s get on with the tasty-ness.

My most requested recipe is one that up until now, I’ve been extremely stingy with. It took me over 30 years to come across it myself, and I guard it fiercely. It is the most AMAZING version of the dish I’ve ever tasted, yet it is easy and inexpensive to make. It’s also totally worthy of a main course.

So, without further ado…

Jack Dempsey’s Macaroni and Cheese

1 lb rotini pasta

1 10.5 oz can cheddar cheese soup

1 8 oz package cream cheese

1 stick of butter or margarine

1 large can of evaporated milk

1 8oz block of Cabot Seriously Sharp Cheddar Cheese, shredded **THE most important ingredient. Do. Not. Substitute.**

Boil pasta according to package directions and drain. In a large microwave-safe bowl, combine cheddar cheese soup, cream cheese, and butter. Microwave about 2 minutes, then whisk until smooth. Pour in  evaporated milk and mix well. Add pasta and stir to combine.

Transfer mixture to a casserole dish (2.5 qt or 9×13 in) and top with cheddar cheese. Bake at 350 degrees until bubbly, approximately 25 minutes.

**I often add steamed broccoli to this before baking to make it easier to get veggies into my picky 3 year old.

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Claysmom permalink

    Crystal,
    I can’t wait to follow this…..My only question is, can you find “Cabot Seriously Sharp Cheddar Cheese” around Fort Smith? Bc if not, I won’t be able to try it.

  2. this sounds awesome!! I’m off this weekend for a trip but I think as soon as I come back, I’m gonna try this. Kids love good mac and cheese…and I’m just a kid..lol

  3. Katie permalink

    Crystal, I have been in hot pursuit for this recipe for years only to find subpar knock offs. Where did you get your recipe? I have seen similar ones with egg and anyone who loves this recipe knows there is no egg!

    • I actually found the recipe in a newspaper. As with any recipe I post, I made it my own with a few small modifications, including removing the 2 eggs originally called for. I just don’t think mac n cheese is supposed to “set” or hold together, and that’s all the egg really does to it.

  4. RhapsodyDiva permalink

    Is this the recipe from Jack Dempsey’s in New Orleans on Poland Ave?

    • Absolutely not. This is the recipe that the Times Picayune THOUGHT was the correct recipe, but was quickly told otherwise. The recipe is not and never will be published as it has one secret ingredient that nobody could ever attempt to guess 😉

  5. This is absolutely not the recipe for Jack Dempseys macaroni and cheese. Sammy has 3 cheeses in his and one of them is a tight lipped secret that he will never publish nor share with family.

Leave a Reply

